Book Report: Gardening Wisdom & Know-How

This book is a encyclopedia of garden knowledge, presented on tabloid paper with simple print and drawings. I love the feel of the plain paper under my fingers. It is a beautiful representation and (more easily) accessible resource for much of the garden know-how I have rattling around in my mind (as well as a lot more rattling around on the internet.) I’ll admit I picked it up almost entirely because of the presentation. I’m still happy with the purchase though, and I need to remember to reference it more often.

So, studiously I flipped through the pages to see what gems I could glean from it for my homestead dreams. This time around, the parts that really caught my eye were about soil preparation, composts and mulches; and about gardening for birds and wildlife. I slipped away into a little dreamland as I thought about how I would definitely be building up some natural habitats for my little bird friends and just what I would buy to make those happen. Trust me, I’ll write all about it sometime.

Simply put, the book is a wealth of information. If you were going to start out on your own first-time garden project, I would highly recommend this book. Soil preparation, flower gardening, vegetable gardening, sustainable practices—it has it all. And it’s all presented as-is, without any gimmicks or hipster-come-country vibe. The only person this book wouldn’t work for, is for the person who needs colorful, glossy, photos to inspire them and pre-made plans. So if that’s you, I bet I can recommend something different—but if it’s me, or someone like me, I enjoy this lady.

Where’s Lavar Burton when you need him?

Leave a Reply

