Slow jam.

This jam maven is slowing down.

This week it is August. So far I’ve made 4 jars of strawberry-rhubarb jam, 3 jars of raspberry rose jam, 4 jars of apricot-thyme jam, and two jars of pickles.

All of it with local, raw honey too! Which makes me especially happy.

I want to focus on what we need, what we’ll eat, what I can gift easily.
I am tired of having 200 jars of food that I will end up throwing away.

We still have some beautiful sauces I made last year—peach barbecue, plum-tarragon, plum-ginger. We also have a lot of applesauce, and a handful of jams.

And I still have some designs on blackberries, cherries, peaches, tomatoes, beets, and tomatillos. Small-batched. And I did just buy this book.

I am enjoying this quality over quantity, and want to nurture this mindset.
Next year, the garden.

Leave a Reply

