Solo ‘Steading

This is the second summer that my other-half is working out of town.

Now, I’m the type of gal that enjoys some time alone – so in a lot of ways it’s an enjoyable change of pace. But when you have a dog, 4 cats, 9 chickens, 8 ducks, and 21(!) rabbits – not to mention a whole house and garden – its some work.

So in the mornings, I wake up, start some water for coffee and hop in the shower. After that I start the french press and clean up the kitchen, the dishes, and the living room while I listen to a podcast. Make breakfast and lunch for the day.

Then I head outside!

The nursing mama rabbits are first priority – top off their water, their food, make sure they have hay. Then I head back and toss the chickens and ducks a scoop of feed, and let myself into the chicken yard to top off the ducklings food.

At least once a week I try and drain the duck pond and refill.
Twice a week I try and bring in the eggs to be washed and dated.

Once I am back there, I check on the rest of the rabbits – that they have enough food and water to keep them until I’m home later.

At least once during the week, I put the sprinklers on in the front yard and in the garden. Today I did that and let the ducks and chickens run around for about an hour while I finished getting ready for work and drinking coffee.

During the day, Rupert’s chilling out back. First, he’s a dog! Second, it keeps him off my couch. Third, I don’t have my new screen/doggy door installed yet.

When I get home from work, it’s a lot of the same – the nursing rabbits go through their food and water very quickly and need it refilled twice a day, easily.

Tonight I’ll work in the garden for awhile, which will produce a few treats for all the critters and might give the birds another chance to roam. Tonight I might let the ducklings loose – it would be nice to combine the flock, but I worry a little.

It’s a lot of work but without it, animals suffer! (And it’s always nice to get a break Friday, Saturday and Sunday when my other half is in town!)

Leave a comment